ESERA Summer School 2019: Call for Applications is now open!

We invite applications from students and staff who wish to participate in the next ESERA Summer School, which will be held in Kolympari (Chania), Crete, Greece, from June 4th to June 9th 2019. The Summer School is an excellent opportunity for students and staff to learn and share expertise about science education research. In total 49 students and around 20 staff members will be attending from many countries.

Applications should be submitted via the website:

Staff applicants can submit their application and student applicants their synopsis (max 5 pages) and an abstract (max 150 words). For more detailed notes on student and staff applications please follow the corresponding links at the end of this page.

Some additional notes:

  • Please, keep in mind that applicants – both students and staff members – have to be members of ESERA when applying. Membership of ESERA is open to researchers in science education from anywhere in the world.

  • Students who applied but were not able to attend the 2018 Summer School and who would still like to attend, are encouraged to apply.

  • The staff members will act as mentors, plenary lecturers, or workshop leaders. Mentors are no longer required to have a current PhD student attending the summer school.

  • The academic programme of the ESERA Summer School 2019 will take place during June 4-9. Arrivals will be on Tuesday June 4th (before 5pm) and departures on Sunday June 9th (after 2pm at the earliest).

Important dates:

  • Deadline for applications                                              December 2, 2018

  • Confirmation of acceptance                                         January 28, 2019

  • Deadline for  Summer School registration                 February 28, 2019

  • Summer School                                                               June 4 – June 9, 2019

We look forward to receiving your application!

Organizing Committee (OC):

Dimitris Stavrou, Head of the OC, Professor
Michail Kalogiannakis, Vice-Head of the OC, Assistant Professor
Nikos Kapelonis, Member of the OC, Technical Laboratory Staff
Emily Michailidi, Member of the OC, Post-Doc
Athanasia Kokolaki, Member of the OC, Doctoral Student
Argyris Nipyrakis, Member of the OC, Doctoral Student

School of Education, University of Crete, Greece.

If you have any questions, please contact us at .